The Art of Staying

While there are many who left me

with nothing

but the familiarity of their skin

or how hugging them feels

they do not know

that them leaving

only made me stronger

that each leaving became my horcrux

that I thrive on sadness

that sniffing their memories

gives me a high

that these tears that run

are acid

and if you come close

you’ll burn yourself

and that while everyone left

I got busy

trying to learn

the actions of the

people who left

and

I did the exact opposite

and I rebelled

By staying

Leave a Reply

